>>> PLAYERS: A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Gary Speed

Gary Speed
Complete Name: Gary Speed
Nationality: Wales
Place of Birth: Mancot, Wales
Date of Birth: 08/09/1969
Height: 180 cm
Weight: 80 kg
National Team: England
Current Club: Bolton
Position: Midfielder


Picture 1 Picture 2 Picture 3

Club career history

Leeds United (England), Everton (England), Newcastle United (England), Bolton (England)




Gary Speed (born September 8, 1969 in Mancot) is a Welsh footballer, who plays in midfield. He currently plays for Bolton Wanderers, after a 750,000 switch from Newcastle United in July 2004. He was also captain for the Welsh national team until recently, when he retired from international football after the side's 3-2 defeat to Poland in a World Cup qualifier.

Speed began his career with Leeds United, winning the title with them in 1992. He moved to Everton in 1996, for a fee of 5,500,000. He then moved to Newcastle in 1998, and while there he became the club's most dependable midfielder. Newcastle's manager, Sir Bobby Robson, was sorry to see Speed leave the club, and acknowledged that he would do very well for Bolton.

He had been capped for Wales over 80 times, and holds the record for the most Premiership appearances. Besides being a strong tackler, Speed is noted for skill in set pieces, often scoring from them.

After his retirement from international football, he was recommended to take up the mantle of Wales' manager, by both the former manager Mark Hughes and fellow Welsh midfielder Robbie Savage. Bolton's manager Sam Allardyce has urged Speed to see out the rest of his 2 year contract with Bolton first. For his part, Speed has stated he will not apply for the position but would talk to the Welsh FA if approached.

More Soccer Players

Alan Shearer
Alan Smith
Anders Svensson
Andriy Shevchenko
Bastian Schweinsteiger
Bernd Schneider
Chris Sutton
Clarence Seedorf
Dario Silva
Dario Simic
Dejan Stankovic
Enzo Scifo
Erwin Sanchez
Franklin Salas
Gareth Southgate
Gary Speed
Georgios Samaras
Gilberto Silva
Hasan Sas
Hristo Stoichkov
Hugo Sanchez
Jaap Stam
Javier Saviola
John O'Shea
Jorge Soto

Juan Pablo Sorin
Louis Saha
Marcelo Salas
Michel Salgado
Mikael Silvestre
Nolberto Solano
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
Oswaldo Sanchez
Paul Scholes
Rigobert Song
Robbie Savage
Roberto Sensini
Roberto Soldado
Roque Santa Cruz
Ruben Sosa
Santiago Solari
Simao Sabrosa
Trevor Sinclair
Vaclav Sverkos
Walter Samuel
Wesley Sonck
Wesley Sneijder
Willy Sagnol



Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy - Contact us

Copyright 2003-2008, 123FOOTBALL.COM. All right reserved.